YOOOOO guess who’s back?

Okay okay so I’ve been writing a lot of poetry recently- and given that school is hard and time-consuming, I’m going to release a poem a week. ALSO get hyped for a short story called Firebird coming soon.

Anyways, here’s a poem for y’all:

 

Nature Documentaries of the 21st Century

Remember the universe?

Where God gives

And naked life has

A ferocious heart and flowering belly.

We are born the sacred child of time.

Wild surrounds, trusting.

But dark desires dirty good,

Steel and smoke bleeds our green,

Broken, needing breath.

but men devour.

 

 

This poem came to me just after going to Les Saisons, a nature documentary that is a part of the International Film Festival, at the University of Colorado, and was filled with “humans are dooming the natural world” sort of dread after watching the piece (which was quite good, I recommend). Moral of the story: climate change is real, death is eminent, and humans suck.

Have a delightful day, and hope you enjoyed the poetry!

xx Tessa Rose ❤

 

p.s. If any of you have advice for me to improve my poetry, message me! I’m still working on honing in on my skills in poetry, and would appreciate the feedback!

Leave a Reply

